Skip to main content

Ratings and Reviews

Average rating across all services.

   4.8 / 5

Sort:
   4 / 5

Worst Bed Ever!

First, I would give 5-stars for the care I received on my 11/16/18 visit and over-night stay for surgery. I have never, ever had an issue with care at your facilities. HOWEVER, the bed was so hard that I had excruciating lower back pain and couldn’t understand why. I thought it might have occured from surgery, but I had a hysterectomy and didn’t think my back would be hurting. I kept complaining to the nurses, I couldn’t rest or sleep and finally one said, it’s probably the bed. Now, I have been overnight at HCM, actually for 3-nights and never experienced the back pain from the bed. I know that HCM is undergoing changes all the time and would highly suggest that the beds be moved up on that list! That hard bed made me absolutely miserable and by the morning I was begging to get out. To my surprise when I sat in the recliner, which had a huge “butt dent” already in it, the pain didn’t go away as the recliner was in such bad shape. I was in room 210, but maybe ya’ll move beds around, not sure. I hope for the sake of your patients and our healing that you will make this a priority. Also, the bed tray was not clean! The top was, but when you pull out the drawers and move the tray part, the sliders were nasty. Doesn’t make a patient feel good looking at dirt in the hospital environment.

Cheryl · Harper, TX · Dec 10, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, Cheryl. We always strive to provide the very best care in every way, and we take every patient experience to heart. I am sorry that your experience was less than Remarkable. Our Patient Experience Director, Holly Schmidt, will be in contact with you to discuss the details of your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your voice will help us to improve.
,

   5 / 5

I had my 4th (5th?) colonoscopy last week, and the only bad part was at home, the day before, drinking the ten (seemed like) gallons of yuk. Once I arrived at the hospital, everyone was first rate, from the time I came in the front door until I checked out. Nursing staff was very attentive and helpful. Everything was neat and clean, the procedure was on schedule, the doctor and anesthesiologist explained what was going on, and the doctor came to my room afterward and explained what happened and what his findings were. What's not to like?

RBob · Blanco, TX · Nov 12, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, RBob. Thank you for your great reivew. Your kind words will mean so much to our team. Sincerely, Sheila
,

   5 / 5

I recently had an Endoscopy done. The nurses were wonderful and very caring. I have been to this hospital many times in the last 15 years and I always get excellent care and if I changed anything it would be having to register every time you have just lab work done. But over all it is a great hospital with experienced and caring people. Those people that complain need to realize that these medical people have a lot to do and learn to be patient. S

Sandy · Fredericksburg, TX · Nov 12, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, Sandy. Thank you so much for great review and kind words. I will pass this on to the Endoscopy director to share with the team. It will mean a lot to them. Sincerely, Sheila
,

   1 / 5

One of the main reasons I am leaving the medical group is due to my doctor’s receptionist. On several occasions said receptionist has been rude. For example I had an appointment and 30 min later my child had an appointment at the same doctor, I gave the updated insurance card for my child, I got told “I don’t have time for that I have other things to do so that has to wait”. I’m sorry but being rude to patients is unacceptable. When I went in 10-19-18 to request records to be sent, the receptionist opened the window and didn’t say a single word!! I asked for the form and filled it out, once again receptionist popped off rudely and said “I will send them today or Monday I don’t have time to right now”. I get it the offices are busy but that’s no excuse to have an attitude to people every time they come in. Since said receptionist has been there that is the treatment myself and I know others have gotten, actions need to be taken. Again that’s one of the main reasons I am leaving the medical group and seeing another doctor. Hopefully there I will get better respect as a patient.

Chels D · Fredericksburg, TX · Nov 05, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, Chels. I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience at our Medical Group. We pride ourselves on providing the best experience and I am sorry we missed the mark. Please reach out to Holly Schmidt, our Patient Experience Director, at 830-997-1291 if you would like to discuss the details of your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Your voice makes us better.
,

   5 / 5

THANKFUL FOR LIFE

Angels on Earth are what this group of people are. They helped me to help my daddy pass with the dignity and compassion and love he so deserved. It was thru the knowledge and support you gave to me and my family that we could get thru this time with great strength. From a shoulder to lean or cry on they answered every one of the questions I had. Was done promptly and never made me feel it wasn't important what I was asking. Even though was a loss of my daddy I gained life long friends. Great job !!!

Daddy's Girl · Junction, TX · Oct 31, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

   1 / 5

STAT Means ?

I have been coming to Hill Country Memorial for over 3 years and am becoming more frustrated with the institution as a whole. I was sent to the lab and imaging by my primary care Dr who is associated with the hospital. Both my labs and my X-ray were marked as STAT because I was attempting to leave SA for Miami and needed to know if I was getting sicker. I understand the need to register although constantly changing systems is not conducive to rapid registration. So after registration I waited 15 minutes to be seen by the lab. The technician was quite efficient and a good stick so drawing blood happened quite quickly. I then walked myself down to imagining where it took me 20 minutes to be seen. I had two films taken. I was finished with both items by 10:30 am. Reminder - both orders were marked STAT. It takes an hour max to run a CBC which is what was drawn and a read of a chest X-ray doesn’t take more than 30 minutes. Now this would have put the posting of results to my Dr and into the portal by noon at the latest. It is now 3pm and there is nothing. This is the second time I have received/ observed less than effective/efficient management of the lab - last time I walked out after having to wait more than 20 minutes for a test that necessitated proper handling of a clinical sample and time had run out. This is NOT a failing of my Dr but of the two core facilities needed to aid my Dr in diagnosis. I am going to hope that I can infer this lack of data as my illness is not progressing and that the etiologic agent is not bacterial in origin. STAT is a serious label and one that should not be taken lightly and I know my Dr does not use it indiscriminately either. Therefore, the blatant disregard of this label and resultant stress it has caused both me and my physician is one that needs to be addressed by hospital administration.

MO · San Antonio, TX · Oct 31, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your visit to the HCM laboratory and imaging departments. We take great pride in the value of our work and in the quality of care that we provide our patients; I apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The results of your diagnostic tests were made available to your physician within one hour of testing. There is a 72-hour delay for test results to be posted to the HCM Portal. We apologize for any problems this delay may have caused. If you would like to visit more about the details of your case please feel free to reach out to Holly Schmidt, Patient Experience Director at 830-997-1291 or via email at hschmidt@hillcountrymemorial.org .
,

   5 / 5

Yesterday I had my 4th Colonoscopy at HCM. As always, everyone I met was friendly and truly professional. The care I received was outstanding as always. A special thanks to the Nursing Staff for their compassion and care. They made everything better. Thanks.

skip · fredericksburg, TX · Oct 31, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for your great review and kind words about our team.
,

   1 / 5

Unprofessional and rude staff

My daughter took her husband to the ER Saturday morning. He was in excruciating pain and had been vomiting for hours (turns out it was a kidney stone)! Before they even got an IV started the nurse came into the treatment room, looked at him lying on the bed in terrible pain, and commented that he had "WalMart feet", because he had some mud on them from walking to the car in flip flops!! I certainly hope this isn't the norm for this facility and its staff, but regardless, that is without a doubt the most rude and completely insulting and unprofessional comment I have EVER HEARD from anyone in the medical profession. That type of uncalled for and ugly comment should never be uttered from anyone who is the business of caring for people. To make matters even more insulting, the doctor then came in and made a snarky comment about my son-in-law having taken his muddy flip flops off (so he wouldn't soil the linens before putting his feet up on the bed) and that he had never seen anyone do that before. Seriously?? People don't usually slip their muddy shoes off before putting their feet up on the bed??? I'm thinking some sensitivity training may be in order, at the very least.

Julie · Fredericksburg, TX · Oct 29, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Dear Julie, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality and compassionate care. I am sorry that your son-in-law had a poor experience in our ER. I have forwarded your comments to our Patient Experience Director, Holly Schmidt, who will be contacting you. Your feedback will help us to improve. Sincerely, Sheila
,

   2 / 5

The ED nursing staff was fairly considerate and tried to put me at ease. I’m fairly young and came in with cardiac concerns. After being admitted to the floor at 6:15am, the new hospitalist for day shift came on and told me he pretty much felt I was faking because I wasn’t old enough to have the symptoms I’m having. He then took away my ordered pain meds, only leaving orders for medication that I’m allergic to and is stated in my chart that I’m allergic to. He didn’t attempt to truly talk to me and address my concerns and seemed put off by having to cover me in his rounds, like I was a waste of his time. Now I’m sitting here with what had been referred to by other staff as a “nasty UTI” and continued chest pain, tightness and difficulty getting my breath and I have nothing to help with the pain because “I’m too young” so I MUST be faking. What kind of a dumbass takes away something that’s helping just to order something that their patient is allergic to? The nurse I had yesterday did do some advocating and managed to get me something to help, but it doesn’t help much. To top it off, I’ve also been told I have noted kidney stones that “shouldn’t really be causing you any pain” and I’m being told contradicting information regarding cardiac test results and my concerns are being blown off like it’s inconvenient for staff to deal with and like it’s not a big deal for someone in their 30s to have sudden onset cardiac symptoms, so instead of actually doing their job, they’re ignoring my voiced concerns and requests to speak with upper management. I cannot believe this hospital has made the top 100 list for hospitals in the nation!

B · Kerrville, TX · Sep 26, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Dear B, I am sorry you had an unfortunate experience. We take great pride in the value of our work and in the quality of care that we provide our patients. It is my understanding that you have spoken with Holly Schmidt, our Patient Experience Director, during your stay. Thank you for sharing your concerns with her. Your feedback will help make us better.
,

   5 / 5

My procedure went without a hitch. All the staff showed compassion, attention to detail, and professionalism. I knew that I was in good hands.

Caroline49 · Mason, TX · Sep 20, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. And thank you for putting your confidence in us.
,