Skip to main content

Ratings and Reviews

Average rating across all services.

   4.8 / 5

Sort:
   5 / 5

Great

I had my colonoscopy yesterday and after a couple of uncomfortable days of hydration and starvation, I had a wonderful experience with all the staff in the outpatient department. I was treated politely, with dignity, with humor and with nice warm blankets! Who would want anything more? We have had several visits to the ER lately as we age and I can say the same for all the ER staff, they are the greatest! I will continue to be an avid supporter of the HCMH!

Fred · Fredericksburg, TX · Apr 01, 2019     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Dear Fred, I would like you to commend you for being proactive about your health and getting your screenings. Great Job! We know no one wants to come to the hospital, especially the ER. But I am so pleased to hear that you have been treated to a wonderful experience. Your kind words are appreciated and I will pass them along to both departments to share with the teams. Thank you for your continued support, HCM will continue to thrive with the support of community members like you. Sincerely, Jasper
Jasper, Thank you

   1 / 5

Unexpected Disappointment

My recent encounter with my 16 year old sons doctor was surprisingly dissatisfying...I have to say that he has been attended by the same doctor since toddler years...for all of the years I felt that his doctor was thorough yet curt...however his most recent visit was very short and when I addressed the doctor in regards to some other issues that he was diagnosed with through a pediatric Psych...the doctor refused to discuss any of the problems that I felt could have been dealt with by a more actively interested physician whom cared about the patients and parental concerns...was curt and coldly removed from the discussion and only wanted to quickly address the immediate illness...I am thinking, WOW...but you are his doctor...how rude...I will be seeking a replacement, sadly since I have held this doctor in high regard for years, that has now changed...I thought doctors were supposed to be listeners and actively interested in their patients overall welfare...I guess I was wrong.

M · FREDERICKSBURG, TX · Mar 14, 2019     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hello M, I am sorry you had a less than stellar experience at the HCM Medical Group. I know our physicians strive for a remarkable experience with every patient they care for. I would encourage you to contact Holly Schmidt, HCM’s Patient Experience Director at 830-997-1291. We would like to understand more so we can do better for our patients. Thank you for your feedback it is important to us. Sincerely, Jasper
,

   5 / 5

Phlebotomist

I have had numerous blood tests over my 76 years and my experience on 12-3-19 was the most efficient procedure that I have ever experienced. My phlebotomist was professional, quick and painless.

Steve · Kerrville, TX · Jan 09, 2019     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, Steve. Thank you for your review and kind words. I have passed this message on to the Lab director to share with his team.
,

   4 / 5

Worst Bed Ever!

First, I would give 5-stars for the care I received on my 11/16/18 visit and over-night stay for surgery. I have never, ever had an issue with care at your facilities. HOWEVER, the bed was so hard that I had excruciating lower back pain and couldn’t understand why. I thought it might have occured from surgery, but I had a hysterectomy and didn’t think my back would be hurting. I kept complaining to the nurses, I couldn’t rest or sleep and finally one said, it’s probably the bed. Now, I have been overnight at HCM, actually for 3-nights and never experienced the back pain from the bed. I know that HCM is undergoing changes all the time and would highly suggest that the beds be moved up on that list! That hard bed made me absolutely miserable and by the morning I was begging to get out. To my surprise when I sat in the recliner, which had a huge “butt dent” already in it, the pain didn’t go away as the recliner was in such bad shape. I was in room 210, but maybe ya’ll move beds around, not sure. I hope for the sake of your patients and our healing that you will make this a priority. Also, the bed tray was not clean! The top was, but when you pull out the drawers and move the tray part, the sliders were nasty. Doesn’t make a patient feel good looking at dirt in the hospital environment.

Cheryl · Harper, TX · Dec 10, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, Cheryl. We always strive to provide the very best care in every way, and we take every patient experience to heart. I am sorry that your experience was less than Remarkable. Our Patient Experience Director, Holly Schmidt, will be in contact with you to discuss the details of your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Your voice will help us to improve.
,

   5 / 5

I had my 4th (5th?) colonoscopy last week, and the only bad part was at home, the day before, drinking the ten (seemed like) gallons of yuk. Once I arrived at the hospital, everyone was first rate, from the time I came in the front door until I checked out. Nursing staff was very attentive and helpful. Everything was neat and clean, the procedure was on schedule, the doctor and anesthesiologist explained what was going on, and the doctor came to my room afterward and explained what happened and what his findings were. What's not to like?

RBob · Blanco, TX · Nov 12, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, RBob. Thank you for your great reivew. Your kind words will mean so much to our team. Sincerely, Sheila
,

   5 / 5

I recently had an Endoscopy done. The nurses were wonderful and very caring. I have been to this hospital many times in the last 15 years and I always get excellent care and if I changed anything it would be having to register every time you have just lab work done. But over all it is a great hospital with experienced and caring people. Those people that complain need to realize that these medical people have a lot to do and learn to be patient. S

Sandy · Fredericksburg, TX · Nov 12, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, Sandy. Thank you so much for great review and kind words. I will pass this on to the Endoscopy director to share with the team. It will mean a lot to them. Sincerely, Sheila
,

   1 / 5

One of the main reasons I am leaving the medical group is due to my doctor’s receptionist. On several occasions said receptionist has been rude. For example I had an appointment and 30 min later my child had an appointment at the same doctor, I gave the updated insurance card for my child, I got told “I don’t have time for that I have other things to do so that has to wait”. I’m sorry but being rude to patients is unacceptable. When I went in 10-19-18 to request records to be sent, the receptionist opened the window and didn’t say a single word!! I asked for the form and filled it out, once again receptionist popped off rudely and said “I will send them today or Monday I don’t have time to right now”. I get it the offices are busy but that’s no excuse to have an attitude to people every time they come in. Since said receptionist has been there that is the treatment myself and I know others have gotten, actions need to be taken. Again that’s one of the main reasons I am leaving the medical group and seeing another doctor. Hopefully there I will get better respect as a patient.

Chels D · Fredericksburg, TX · Nov 05, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi, Chels. I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience at our Medical Group. We pride ourselves on providing the best experience and I am sorry we missed the mark. Please reach out to Holly Schmidt, our Patient Experience Director, at 830-997-1291 if you would like to discuss the details of your visit. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Your voice makes us better.
,

   5 / 5

THANKFUL FOR LIFE

Angels on Earth are what this group of people are. They helped me to help my daddy pass with the dignity and compassion and love he so deserved. It was thru the knowledge and support you gave to me and my family that we could get thru this time with great strength. From a shoulder to lean or cry on they answered every one of the questions I had. Was done promptly and never made me feel it wasn't important what I was asking. Even though was a loss of my daddy I gained life long friends. Great job !!!

Daddy's Girl · Junction, TX · Oct 31, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

   1 / 5

STAT Means ?

I have been coming to Hill Country Memorial for over 3 years and am becoming more frustrated with the institution as a whole. I was sent to the lab and imaging by my primary care Dr who is associated with the hospital. Both my labs and my X-ray were marked as STAT because I was attempting to leave SA for Miami and needed to know if I was getting sicker. I understand the need to register although constantly changing systems is not conducive to rapid registration. So after registration I waited 15 minutes to be seen by the lab. The technician was quite efficient and a good stick so drawing blood happened quite quickly. I then walked myself down to imagining where it took me 20 minutes to be seen. I had two films taken. I was finished with both items by 10:30 am. Reminder - both orders were marked STAT. It takes an hour max to run a CBC which is what was drawn and a read of a chest X-ray doesn’t take more than 30 minutes. Now this would have put the posting of results to my Dr and into the portal by noon at the latest. It is now 3pm and there is nothing. This is the second time I have received/ observed less than effective/efficient management of the lab - last time I walked out after having to wait more than 20 minutes for a test that necessitated proper handling of a clinical sample and time had run out. This is NOT a failing of my Dr but of the two core facilities needed to aid my Dr in diagnosis. I am going to hope that I can infer this lack of data as my illness is not progressing and that the etiologic agent is not bacterial in origin. STAT is a serious label and one that should not be taken lightly and I know my Dr does not use it indiscriminately either. Therefore, the blatant disregard of this label and resultant stress it has caused both me and my physician is one that needs to be addressed by hospital administration.

MO · San Antonio, TX · Oct 31, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your visit to the HCM laboratory and imaging departments. We take great pride in the value of our work and in the quality of care that we provide our patients; I apologize that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The results of your diagnostic tests were made available to your physician within one hour of testing. There is a 72-hour delay for test results to be posted to the HCM Portal. We apologize for any problems this delay may have caused. If you would like to visit more about the details of your case please feel free to reach out to Holly Schmidt, Patient Experience Director at 830-997-1291 or via email at hschmidt@hillcountrymemorial.org .
,

   5 / 5

Yesterday I had my 4th Colonoscopy at HCM. As always, everyone I met was friendly and truly professional. The care I received was outstanding as always. A special thanks to the Nursing Staff for their compassion and care. They made everything better. Thanks.

skip · fredericksburg, TX · Oct 31, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for your great review and kind words about our team.
,