Skip to main content

Ratings and Reviews

Average rating across all services.

   4.8 / 5

Sort:
   3 / 5

Excellent & Outrageous

I thought the care I received during my emergency room visit was excellent. The big surprise was the bill. I am a retired military man and use Tricare. I received a bill from the hospital that I thought was very high for the short period of time I spent there, but it was almost entirely covered by Tricare. About three months later i received a bill from the attending physician via a PO Box located in San Antonio for a truly outrageous figure. This bill had been submitted to Tricare and they apparently felt the same way as I do, as they only payed a very small portion of it, leaving me with a budget busting figure. Actions like these really bring home some of the ways that health care is broken and becoming out of reach for average citizens. I wonder if the hospital is aware of these activities, and supports them. If the administration really is interested in the total service being provided, it should eliminate secondary billing, or at least make the true cost of procedures and services more clear to patients. I welcome a conversation on these matters, however my phone calls have not yet been returned.

Poorvet · Fredericksburg, TX · Jan 05, 2012     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

   5 / 5

A pleasant experience despite the procedure

Today I had a barium swallow at Hill Country Memorial and I wanted to say that even though this is a pretty unpleasant procedure it was made a lot easier by the staff. Both the nurse and the Doctor were very friendly and put me at ease and made it a lot less of a chore. Good customer relations go a long way in helping someone get through the hard times. I didn't wait a long time and I was in an out promptly too!

dieselgal · Kerrville, TX · Jan 04, 2012     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thanks for letting us know that your "upleasant" experience was somewhat diminished by our customer service. We really appreciate hearing from you. Thanks again.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Customer Experience

   5 / 5

HCM Hospice has exceeded all of my expectations!

I am a current Hospice patient and thus far, my experiences have fallen just a hair short of total excellence. From my very first experience “interviewing” to see if I felt HCMH could/would be able to meet needs, to my current situation after many months of Hospice service. I must note that I set the bar quite high, as my sister is a Hospice Administrator with another organization, and I had within the previous 12 months viewed hospice care of three long time friends and my own Father that could be best described as “good”, “mediocre”, and “apathetic” coming from two rival organizations. My decision to select HCMH was solid, and each member of my team has remained at the top of their field in every area. MyNurse is a consummate professional, who’s skill, intuition, and patience is further enhanced by practicing that little thing called TLC! By researching my condition & specific diagnosis, and becoming familiar with the varied nuances of my complicated medical history in her own time, MyNurse further enhanced her ability to care for me. MyAide is my own personal ray of sunshine! I’ve never encountered an individual who can accomplish so much in a relatively short time while not sacrificing quality for quantity of tasks, and to my delight, on occasion she sings like an angel while working. Like myNurse, MyAide has a special intuition that will have either drop what she’s doing and in an instant, just sit and hold my hand, listen to me vent, wipe away my tears, or wrap me in a comforting hug. In short, due to the fine efforts and accomplishments of MyNurse and MyAide; HCM Hospice is, and I believe will continue to meet and exceed my needs - they make it nearly a pleasure to take this final walk!

MaryMaryMary · Fredericksburg, TX · Jan 02, 2012     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

That is the most heart felt story, I've read in a long time. We are so thankful that you shared your story of the support you recieve. Thank you so very much for telling us how you felt. Thank you and God bless.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Customer Experience

   5 / 5

My experience while having a swallow test in radio

My appointment time was 9:00 and I was taken it on time. Before the swallow test the radiological technician explained the procedure, as well as, looking out after my comfort. The doctor performing the test was also punctual. He was friendly, explained the procedure and for what he was looking, and he continued to keep me informed during the procedure. Afterwards he showed me the video of the procedure and explained what it showed. I felt informed and empowered by the knowledge. Both the physician and technician were extremely professional and knowledgeable..

NAWB · Kerrville, TX · Dec 22, 2011     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for letting us know that your recent care was so well managed and maintained and that your experience can be shared. Hope you have a wonderful holiday season and thank you.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Customer Experience

   5 / 5

Yearly mammography was a positive experience

This year was my first time to use the Woman's Center for my yearly mammography. It was the best experience for this procedure I have had. The waiting room was warm and comfortable; the registration clerk was cheerful, quick and efficient; the dressing room was roomy, not closet like; and gown was not a gown, but a comfortable warm bed jacket, which was easy to manipulate during the procedure. The technician was also cheerful, plus informative, efficient and respectful. The whole experience was excellent.

NAWB · Kerrville, TX · Dec 22, 2011     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

We so appreciate you letting us know how well your first time was at our Breast Center. We continue to receive wonderful comments on the atmosphere and feel of the area and glad you felt the same. Thanks again.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Customer Experience

   5 / 5

The entire process was great considering I was in pain.

Mark · Mason, TX · Dec 22, 2011     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are always here if you need us. Thanks again.
Mark D. Peterson, Director-Customer Experience

   5 / 5

Our Experience with Hospice was Outstanding

I cannot sing the praises of the Hospice team enough. What an outstanding group of caring, supportive people. From our arrival home with everything setup ready for our loved one to the caring team of nurses, social worker, and chaplin our every concern was met with total support. This team was loving, caring, supportive and professional all wrapped into one. It was like we were their own family, what more can I say. I love them all and am so greatful for each of them. The thanks I feel seems so little compaired to how wonderful they were. Thanks To You All

Suz · Llano, TX · Dec 21, 2011     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you so much for sharing your feelings regarding our Hospice team. Our group does an outstanding job of supporting everyone's loved ones. Thanks again.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Customer Experience

   5 / 5

Excellent.

The efficiency was amazing. Things were done when we were told they would be. How you do it must be very good planning and personnel.

Blackie · Kingsland, TX · Dec 20, 2011     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for helping us confirm our efficiency. We truly strive to make everyone's experience a remarkable and memorable visit. Thanks again so much.
Mark D. Peterson, Director-Customer Experience

   5 / 5

We received excellent care during my recent surgery. My wishes were adheared to reguarding IV placement and the procedure was as painless as possible. My family was treated in a gracious manner and I was allowed to go home with the instructions I needed to have them care for me. This is not the first time we have chosen this facility and we will gladly use it in the future.

Rockhound · Llano, TX · Dec 13, 2011     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for sharing your experience. We continue to be fortunate to have staff that really cares about treatment for our patients and guests. Thanks again so very much.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Customer Experience

   5 / 5

this was my family's second experience with HCM........the experience/service/care was simply outstanding every step of the way.........from the time I walked in the front door. Everyone person I had contact with the day of my colonoscopy went out of their way to make this procedure as smooth as possible. I think I came in contact with at least 15 people that day, and not a single misstep. whatever you are doing , keep doing it. Even the people said how happy they were to work ther. to have this world class facility within our reach is a blessing!!!.....thank you

guy from Boston · blanco, TX · Dec 08, 2011     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

We are so glad that our staff didn't miss a beat when it comes to your care and your experience. We always continue to care about "you" and how we can make your time here a remarkable one. Thanks again.
Mark D. Peterson, Director- Customer Experience