Skip to main content

Ratings and Reviews

Average rating across all services.

   4.8 / 5

Sort:
   5 / 5

Yesterday I had my 4th Colonoscopy at HCM. As always, everyone I met was friendly and truly professional. The care I received was outstanding as always. A special thanks to the Nursing Staff for their compassion and care. They made everything better. Thanks.

skip · fredericksburg, TX · Oct 31, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for your great review and kind words about our team.
,

   1 / 5

Unprofessional and rude staff

My daughter took her husband to the ER Saturday morning. He was in excruciating pain and had been vomiting for hours (turns out it was a kidney stone)! Before they even got an IV started the nurse came into the treatment room, looked at him lying on the bed in terrible pain, and commented that he had "WalMart feet", because he had some mud on them from walking to the car in flip flops!! I certainly hope this isn't the norm for this facility and its staff, but regardless, that is without a doubt the most rude and completely insulting and unprofessional comment I have EVER HEARD from anyone in the medical profession. That type of uncalled for and ugly comment should never be uttered from anyone who is the business of caring for people. To make matters even more insulting, the doctor then came in and made a snarky comment about my son-in-law having taken his muddy flip flops off (so he wouldn't soil the linens before putting his feet up on the bed) and that he had never seen anyone do that before. Seriously?? People don't usually slip their muddy shoes off before putting their feet up on the bed??? I'm thinking some sensitivity training may be in order, at the very least.

Julie · Fredericksburg, TX · Oct 29, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Dear Julie, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We pride ourselves on providing the highest quality and compassionate care. I am sorry that your son-in-law had a poor experience in our ER. I have forwarded your comments to our Patient Experience Director, Holly Schmidt, who will be contacting you. Your feedback will help us to improve. Sincerely, Sheila
,

   2 / 5

The ED nursing staff was fairly considerate and tried to put me at ease. I’m fairly young and came in with cardiac concerns. After being admitted to the floor at 6:15am, the new hospitalist for day shift came on and told me he pretty much felt I was faking because I wasn’t old enough to have the symptoms I’m having. He then took away my ordered pain meds, only leaving orders for medication that I’m allergic to and is stated in my chart that I’m allergic to. He didn’t attempt to truly talk to me and address my concerns and seemed put off by having to cover me in his rounds, like I was a waste of his time. Now I’m sitting here with what had been referred to by other staff as a “nasty UTI” and continued chest pain, tightness and difficulty getting my breath and I have nothing to help with the pain because “I’m too young” so I MUST be faking. What kind of a dumbass takes away something that’s helping just to order something that their patient is allergic to? The nurse I had yesterday did do some advocating and managed to get me something to help, but it doesn’t help much. To top it off, I’ve also been told I have noted kidney stones that “shouldn’t really be causing you any pain” and I’m being told contradicting information regarding cardiac test results and my concerns are being blown off like it’s inconvenient for staff to deal with and like it’s not a big deal for someone in their 30s to have sudden onset cardiac symptoms, so instead of actually doing their job, they’re ignoring my voiced concerns and requests to speak with upper management. I cannot believe this hospital has made the top 100 list for hospitals in the nation!

B · Kerrville, TX · Sep 26, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Dear B, I am sorry you had an unfortunate experience. We take great pride in the value of our work and in the quality of care that we provide our patients. It is my understanding that you have spoken with Holly Schmidt, our Patient Experience Director, during your stay. Thank you for sharing your concerns with her. Your feedback will help make us better.
,

   5 / 5

My procedure went without a hitch. All the staff showed compassion, attention to detail, and professionalism. I knew that I was in good hands.

Caroline49 · Mason, TX · Sep 20, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words. And thank you for putting your confidence in us.
,

   5 / 5

Fantastic ER Staff

Had issues that the complete Emergency Room team handled with extreme professionalism and competence. From the P.A.,the imaging person to nurses, check-in and registration staff, lab technician --all were so very kind. They were in touch with my physician, followed sound medical process and I walked out of there approximately 3 hours after arrival. Very good service and they were busy with many other patients at the time. Had everything I needed to get through that night until I could fill prescriptions. All staff treated me with utmost respect and dignity. My spouse was afforded courtesy and her input was listened to by people that understood the value of a partner's observations and input. Thank you, Hill Country Memorial for helping in my time of need. It was worth it to choose you!

Backacher · Kerrville, TX · Sep 20, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for your kind words. A trip to the ER is never fun, but we are so glad that we made your experience better.
,

   5 / 5

Excellent Care Safe Environment

So pleased with and proud of our local hospital! From the staff who work in admittance to the very professional nurses who prepared me for the procedure to the attentive doctor and anesthetist and nurses assisting in the procedure I say thank you. I felt cared for and safe.

Kathleen · Fredericksburg, TX · Sep 20, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you so much for your great review and kind words. It means so much to our team.
,

   5 / 5

Great service friendly people

My wife was in for a hysterectomy this week. The staff, volunteers, Dr’s, and nurses are amazing. Great service and care. We were a little conserned going to a “small” hospital. We are very satisfied and happy with our experience.

Patient0 · Fredricksburg, TX · Sep 20, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for your great review and kind words. We will share them with our team.
,

   5 / 5

Wonderful Service!

I was visiting from out of state and I picked up a Texas tick. My friend tried in vain to get it out. We finally called Hill Memorial ER and received good information. We decided to come in and have the little rascal taken out. I received excellent care. Although ER was busy, the waiting time was minimal. All staff were professional and efficient. It took the doctor three attempts to excavate the tick. I slept much better knowing he was out. Thank you!

Grandma6 · Redmond, OR · Jun 27, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Linda, I am sorry you had to spend time in our ER. But I am glad we were here for you and that you were given such wonderful care. I will share your kind words with the team in the ER. Sincerely, Jasper
Jasper, Online Reputation Manager

   5 / 5

Why We Live In Fredericksburg

One of the reasons why we chose to retire to Fredericksburg was the HCM’s reputation for excellence. And over the years we’ve been here HCM has proven to us why it earned that reputation. An example is the colonoscopy procedure I had today. Beginning with the volunteers at the door, the admissions office, and through all of the nurses and doctors involved with the procedure, I experienced nothing but kind and compassionate care. HCM and its staff are a treasure to our community.

Paul · Fredericksburg, TX · Jun 04, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review and for your kind words. We will be sure to share them with the HCM team members who cared for you. Please contact HCM’s Patient Experience Director, Holly Schmidt, directly at 830-997-1291 if there were any additional details or individuals involved in your care that you would like to recognize. Thank you for choosing HCM to care for you. Sincerely, Jasper
Jasper, Online Reputation Manager

   2 / 5

In the latter part of February I was sent to the ER by my physician for tests and fluids. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Then I received the bill from the ER doctor. I was amazed that he was not in my insurance company's network (I have Humana). I have never had a problem with the hospital or any doctors associated with the hospital to not be in the network so it never occurred to me to question if the ER doctor was in the network. When you have only one doctor in the ER and you have no choice on doctors it would be helpful to have a doctor that takes the same insurance as the hospital. I appealed the decision with my insurance company and they denied it so I am now stuck with a high bill from the doctor.

disappointed · Fredericksburg, TX · May 16, 2018     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had an unfortunate experience at HCM. Would you be willing to contact our Patient Experience Director, Holly Schmidt, directly at 830-997-1291. She would like to connect with the ER Physician billing company on your behalf. They are committed to working with HCM and their patients to reach a resolution on this type of issue. Sincerely, Jasper
Jasper, Online reputation manager