Skip to main content

Ratings and Reviews

Average rating across all services.

   4.8 / 5

Sort:
   5 / 5

I was promptly processed and a nurse attended to my needs immediately. I was amazed at how quickly the doctor was at my side and thorough in his exam and explanation!!

Pidge · Kerrville, TX · Jan 31, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thanks for letting us know how we did. We really appreciate it.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience

   2 / 5

I have received an ER Physician bill from date of service 11/11/13 with an explanation of this ER Physician does not have a contract with my insurance company. Why has Aetna chosen to contract with your facility to provide care to patients and yet I cannot walk in your facility and receive care by contracted physicians? I was never notified upon registration that I would be receiving a very large bill for the physician upon entering the ER. I have since been notified that the only contract in place with any ER Physician is through medicare or medicaid for Hill Country Memorial Emergency Room. Ironically I was in this same ER on 10/28/13 and have received an ER Physician bill that was contracted by your facility. I am appalled at the change in your policy making an emergency room visit even more difficult and expensive for patients like myself. I cannot fathom calling ahead to an ER to determine who is under contract at a contracted Aetna facility so that we are able to pay our bills in a timely manner. This is such a shame.

disappointed · Llano, TX · Jan 27, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for sharing your story and we understand your concerns. We will look into this issue and will get back with you. Again, we do appreciate hearing this in order for us to correct the problem. Thanks again,
Mark D. Peterson , Director - Patient Experience

   5 / 5

HCMH is Predictably Remarkable

As usual, everyone provided us with an exceptionally positive experience when my husband had recent day surgery….. the volunteers, registration clerks, anesthesiologist, nurses and doctor all showed a high level of friendliness and professionalism! HCMH provides excellent service that creates a feeling of trust and security. Thank you!

Pam · Fredericksburg, TX · Jan 25, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for sharing your story and your experience. We will always be here to help in anyway we can. Thanks again.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience

   5 / 5

Really thrilled

The place is clean and attractive, with good music playing, and welcome water and good Kuerig coffee available. Staff is pleasant and efficient, and answered all questions. I was seen quickly, and the changing room had heated underarm wipes to remove decoderant, a pleasant surprise. And lovely, soothing, Vanilla scented body spray. The Mammography machines are also new, and low level, and plastic, so no more cold steel. Plus, the exam rooms are nice and warm, so no more shivering in cold rooms. Really, a pleasant surprise

Ausslander girl · Fredericksburg, TX · Jan 20, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for telling your story of a good place for special treatment. We want our patients and guests to be comfortable and relaxed during this process. Thanks again
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience

   5 / 5

My experience could not have been better!

I can not say enough positive things about my experience at Hill Country Memorial Hospital. I walked into the emergency room, was greeted by the receptionist, and was promptly taken into an exam room. Each person that I encountered was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. I received all of the information that I needed, and was on my way in a very short time. I feel very fortunate to live here in this place where we have such a wonderful facility and such caring health care professionals. Thank you HCMH!

Suzo · Fredericksburg, TX · Jan 20, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you for sharing your experience and story and please spread the work. Thanks again
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience

   5 / 5

Loved the kindness and thoughtfulness of the volunteers. My nurses were great, had fun joking around with them, so informative and kind too. Overall a definite 5 star functioning facility.

Butch · Llano, TX · Jan 20, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thanks for your kind words and glad you had some "fun" in the hospital as well.
Mark D. Peterson, Director -- Patient Experience

   5 / 5

My dad's recent stay was superb care!

The nursing team, doctors, aides, surgery staff, were among the best I have ever encountered for a family member. It helps ease family members stress to see the care received by all these very professional, caring individuals. We knew my dad was being cared for by the BEST. Thank you to all of you who were so wonderful to my dad!

BEMCD · Duncan, OK · Jan 16, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

Thank you so much for sharing your story and your experience with us. We're glad that we could make a difference. Thanks again.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience

   5 / 5

My experience at HCMH was made comfortable by Staf

The staff and nurses took away my fears by taking my mind off the procedure by talking about myself and their interests. The only unpleasant experience was the cold bathroom.

Caroline · Mason, TX · Jan 15, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

We're sorry for the cold bathroom but glad we could eliminate your fears. Thanks again for sharing.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience

   5 / 5

If you need a hospital this is THE one to use!

From the time you first enter the building the concern for your welfare/comfort is foremost in each persons attitude toward the patient. i wouldn't go anywhere else for my or my family's care!

Dave · Horseshoe Bay, TX · Jan 15, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

That's exactly what we want to hear and that's exactly how we strive to make each one feel. Thanks again so much.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience

   4 / 5

The staff service is good

The nursing staff service is quite good, bordering on exceeding all expectations. My procedure was timely, professional, and comfortable. All the notices and instructions were clear. The nurses call prior to the procedure to collect relevant medical information was well done, entirely appropriate, and very professional. The automated telephone inquiry the day after the procedure is appreciated. The anesthesia provider was also timely, courteous, very professional, and seemingly very proficient as I have no memory of the procedure. My expectation is that the technical components of care were also excellent but these are outside my ability to measure: infection control, monitoring during anesthesia, proficiency of the providers, handling of laboratory and pathology specimens, etc. I would offer a few observations which are intended to be of help in your operations: 1. The check in process is tedious and nearly all of the information could have been collected prior to the day of the procedure by electronic means. 2. There is insufficient privacy during the check in process, as I could hear everything being said to the patients in the adjacent check in interview area, some of which should have been confidential. 3. When I returned to the outpatient department less than one week after my procedure for a laboratory test, the entire process of information gathering was repeated. 4. The volunteers: These are wonderful people who provide a wonderful service. However, all of us in the waiting area could hear them discussing such personal issues as when they have to come on duty, when there break time is, how busy they are, etc. The administrative requirements for accessing health care are tedious and burdensome universally throughout the US. It is understood that all providers are under significant pressure to be sure of the completeness and veracity of the information. The observations above are not criticisms. The patient experience is profoundly important and HCMH seems to be doing a wonderful job. In addition to reporting patient experience, I am hopeful that HCMH will also begin to publish quality and outcome data on patient care. There is more to the story than having a good experience; it is also very important to have had not only appropriate but also medical care which meets or exceeds all national standards.

bhl · Fredericksburg, TX · Jan 15, 2014     Helpful? Yes · No · Inappropriate

Response from HCM

You shared with us a wonderful story and your personal experience on the care and treatment recieved. We want everyone to experience those feelings, each and everytime they visit. Thanks again for your story.
Mark D. Peterson, Director - Patient Experience